Saturday, 5 April 2014

Keyword Research - Complete Reference(Updated)

Keyword Research:

A Complete Reference on Keyword Research techniques, Tools to find High Search Volume Keywords your customers uses to search.
        To Reach Right Customer, Optimize your site for Right Keyword
Keyword Research is a high returns, must do SEO activity to plan SEO Strategy or Link building Plan for your Website/blog. Understanding Keyword's demand, Customers is essential these days to target right customers of the business.

Definition
: Finding and Analyzing keywords or search queries which bring in niche audience to your blog/website through organic and paid channels online is called keyword research


Keyword research techniques
keyword-research lets you discover new, proven keyword
Here is how I have done Keyword Research to choose Better Keywords to optimize my Information blog.

What Are Keywords?

Keywords, these are the ideas on which bloggers/ webmasters write content. On the other side they the search queries or phrases searchers use on search engines to find the information they need. Keywords can be a phrase, Long tail, commercial, information, Question, generic, business-defining, customer - defining, long tail, product/service keywords, local keywords, broad match, exact match, phrase match, domain specific, local specific keywords or any.

Why Blogger/Site webmaster should do keyword research?

  • Blogger/ Webmaster or Content Writers do keyword research for:
  • Find right keywords and long tail phrases customers search frequently on search engines, so to target while writing content, doing SEO for website/blog.
  • Bring in right kind of Customers
  • Analyze business niche market behavior
  • Find Competitors,
  • Find best Online Presence, websites, blogs, and other sources to drive in inbound or referral traffic to my website
  • Find relevant Audience, businesses
  • Plan and implement On-Page Strategies (website components (Titles, Description, anchors, alt tags), content strategies.
  • Plan and implement Off-Page strategies include blogging, implement web 2.0 Strategies, social media optimization strategies, image optimizations, content marketing, video optimization etc.
  • Plan and implement conversions, traffic increasing paid advertisements (PPC, Paid Ads (SMM) and more.
  • Knowing your business driving keywords bring right customer for your business website.

Keywords? Search Queries are they important/matters more.

  • Keywords-bridge between search terms and content available on the web. Customer’s searches on web using keyword, Bloggers/content writers write content relevant to keyword or using these keywords in their content to rank for the searches and serve its customer needs.
  • Keywords we use determines, type of traffic we get to our blog/website
  • Key words bring in organic traffic for a blog/website
  • Keywords reveal needs of your visitors.
  • Understanding the Visitors need, Blogger/content writer’s write content that fits need of customers so to get in Organic traffic,
  • Using keywords in your content drives the visitors to your blog, helps your blog to rank on SERP’s, improve conversions.
Bonus: Understand the customer needs buy interacting with them on forums, communities, conducting Keyword research using Tools, manual keyword research methods and more

What is a Keyword In terms of SEO?

Keyword is query with high search volume, medium competition, relevant to business niche, and searched by niche audience or customers. Keyword let people find the website when searching on search engines

Keyword Research Tools:

It was mandatory to research for high performing keywords, So stop guessing at what people are searching for and use google keyword tools, trends, search suggestions, soolve, SEMrush, Ahrefs, MOZBar to get keyword ideas and suggestions for your content. Let’s you
  • Analyzing the keyword competition, search volume
  • Long tail keywords, and relevancy keywords
  • Competitors ranking for primary keywords,
  • Discover new, proven keyword opportunities that convert to sales.

Keyword Research Process:

Summary: Seed keywords, long tail keywords, organic keywords, keyword opportunities, competitor analysis, keyword competition analysis using keywords analysis tools and find more in the post.Here are the Keyword Research Techniques to identify, commercial keywords.

Details:

  • List out Relevant Topics/Seed keywords by understanding your business, niche business, audience problems, audience language etc.
  • See What Keywords you rank for using Google Search Console
  • See What Keywords your competitors are ranking for using SEMrush, Ahrefs,
  • Brainstorm Keyword Phrases
  • Research related search terms
  • Identify and shortlist list of long tail keywords using search related to, forums, soovel, ubersuggest, google suggested keywords, keyword scrapper,  google webmaster tools search queries, google trends, google correlate, Quora, 
  • Some other sources of Keywords  or niche topics is ( Forums (boardreader.com), Wikipedia (content section), reddit (topics), education marketing places like udemy (Popular Course Description, curriculum or topics, auto suggestion searches), twitter chats(tweetchat/ twitterfall/ tweetgrid /twubs.com,) to research using hashtags, get accessed to top tweet chats at twitter chats  , Twitter chat schedule )
  • Finding questions our audience looking for solutions using tools (Faqfox, askthepublic, google people also asks etc)
  • Forum research ( to find best forums to understand questions your audience looking for, language your audience using and find keywords  density using free tools i.e. keyword density tool by SEO Book
  • Research Q&A Sites( Quora, yahoo answers, ask meta filter, wiki answer, and more) i.e. in terms of topic  and identify top answered top viewed questions
  • Find your competitors keywords using google keyword tool (place your competitor page in landing page option) and sort list few high search volume keywords and analyze more using other keyword tools. Analyze competitors page authority, domain authority, page level authority, referring domains using MOZ Bar, Link profile using Ahrefs (back links - external links) i.e. includes spam blog comments, low quality web/article/blog directories, over optimized anchor tags, editorial links. On page SEO using MOZ Bar Page Analysis,content quality implemented by your competitors
  • Assess the competition level of each keyword using keyword tools keyword snatcher, SEMrush, Ahrefs keyword explorer, MOZ keyword explorer,
  • Get the most complete set of keywords, you need to use at least a few different tools include keywordtool.io, ubersuggest.io, Soovle, FAQFox, AnswerthePublic, Google trends, Google Auto Suggestion, Google Similar Search etc
  • Keyword Competition Research: Check for metrics i.e. Search Volume, Keyword Difficulty, Clicks, Cost per Click, No of Words & finalize your keyword list.
  • Group your list of keywords(relevancy, intent, Business value)
  • Keywords for header (single word keyword with high search volume, competition), body (2 word keyword phrase with 2000 search volume, less competitive than Header keywords), Long tail Keyword phrase.

How to find The value of Keyword?

Analyzing an keyword is essential before using it, so here is how we can analyze an keyword:
  • Self Analysis
  • Any relevant content to the primary keyword on our blog/website which satisfies the customer
  • Will that traffic adds any conversions to business
  • Then proceed with keyword to analyze the keyword difficulty
  • Search for the phrase in top search engines i.e. find insights from top competitors, look for ads (more adds mean more competition, more ads above organic results mean more conversions bringing keyword)
  • Run Test Campaign Using Exact Match Keyword on Bing & Adwords, to target relevant web page and track conversion rate, impressions etc and determine exact value of keyword

Keyword Exact value Case Study:

lets think we have 50,000 impressions per day, 500 visitors came to your site and generated $1500 per day it mean each customer through that keyword give $3 profit, calculate click through rate is 500/50000= 1% CTR if you rank in #1 on Search engine, you can generate 100 visitors per day so you can earn $300
per day..for year 300*365= $1,09,500 per year using this keyword i.e is the exact value of keyword

How to use keywords in content strategy, on-page SEO, and more?

Here are Some Keyword usage Rules you Must fallow on your blog or Site.

On-page SEO:

Include your primary keyword into Header & body of your blog/website i.e
  • Titles:Primary Keyword is first word of title element
  • Descriptions,
  • Headers(H1 & H2)
  • Alt tag for an image
  • Anchor text For internal link,
  • in URL
  • Bread crumb
  • Bold & Strong highlighted Primary keyword

Content Strategy i.e. content to keyword mapping:

  • List out all your keywords to target,
  • Check for Urls exists or not targeting those keywords,If page exists then
  • Find search volume of the keywords, keyword density in title, Content. Calculate Speed of the site, 
  • Look for existence of images, videos, action button and more engagements, Check for internal links, external links,Page Authority, 
  • Check for organic results using Google Search console,
  • Check for Mobile &desk top ranking,
  • Anchor text Mapping using seo tools,
  • Google search console CTR,
  • Analyze keyword Difficulty,Find any CTR Opportunity, Keyword Potential, conversion rate,Importance then
  • Create Spread sheet of above date
  • Implement suggested mapping if needed:
  • Create content if your Keywords are with out content
  • find On page opportunities to include your target keyword,
  • find the other content web pages to target interlinking for your keyword 
  • start Link building targeting the keyword.
Keyword Research to Rank on Google after Rank Brain Implementation:

Local SEO Keyword Research

Find the keywords those drives in local specific traffic using below suggested tricks. Local specific keywords are probably small volumes, but brings in intent traffic.
  • Collect contact us pages of your local specific Competitors,
  • Paste the same URL on keyword tools when using for keyword research 
  • Find the list if keywords these specific pages ranked for on google
  • create final list based on search volume, competition and keyword difficulty i.e. high search volume, medium competition, and less difficulty relevant keywords 
  • Consider location specific keywords included with city names around your location Example if our target keyword is SEO Agency Bangalore, Search should also include SEO Agency Mysore, SEO Agency Tirupati, and SEO Agency Mangalore and more so to target large customer base.
  • Add keywords including additional terms to keywords i.e.  SEO Agency near me, Best SEO Agency in Bangalore, SEO Agency in Bangalore, Bangalore SEO Agency, Bangalore Best SEO Agency and more to your local specific keywords list.
  • Add Long tail Local specific Keywords to your target list includes purchase intent keywords i.e. SEO Agency in Bangalore provide complete Digital Marketing Services
Note: Please don’t target for location specific terms include locations for away from your specific location

Read More: How to implement Local SEO For your Website

How we can do keyword research manually?

Keyword Research Glossary:

Pro tip: Optimize website for body keywords. Never over optimizing for long tail keywords to avoid google panda penalty

SEO Tip
: A keyword is said to be low competitive if it shows out results include ezine articles, ehow,   yahoo answers, buzzle, squidoo, hub pages, wordpress, blogspot, etc.

Bonus: Keyword Research in Less Than 60 Seconds

Use Ahrefs, SEMrush, and Moz and verify the competitor’s keywords (keywords they are bidding for, or running ads, Create List of Common keywords for which all your competitors are optimizing their websites/blogs. Start Optimizing your blog or website for same terms (Organic SEO or Paid Search)


Please share me if you have any more tips to implement keyword research.

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